Blancpain GT Series – More high-level entries for Sepang 12 Hours


One month before the start of the 2015 edition of the Sepang 12 Hours it is clear that the level of this year’s edition will be unequalled, with Clearwater Racing, Bentley M-Sport, FFF Racing Team by ACM and Sport Garage confirming their star-studded line-ups. For those unable to travel to Malaysia, there is the excellent news that the Sepang 12 Hours will have live television and livestream coverage from start to finish!

GT3 – Clearwater Racing #1 Ferrari 458 GT3

Clearwater Racing is one of most successful GT teams in Asia and their record in the Sepang 12 Hours is the perfect confirmation of their status. As overall winners of the two most recent editions of the Asian endurance classic the team of managing director Arj Kulasegaram will start as one of the favourites for the 2015 edition, especially when one takes a look at their now confirmed driver line-up for the #1 Ferrari 458 GT3. Clearwater Racing’s stalwart and triple Sepang 12 Hours-winner Mok Weng Sun will be joined by former FIA GT champion (and last year’s winner) Gianmaria Bruni, 2015 Blancpain Endurance Pro-Am champion Matt Griffin and James Calado, currently third in the GT World Championship standings. The term ‘favourite’ might even be an understatement…

GT3 – Bentley M-Sport #8 and #9 Bentley Continental GT3

But Clearwater Racing will certainly not have it easy. Bentley M-Sport, the British team which gave the Bentley Continental GT3 its racing debut and immediately took two Blancpain Endurance Series race wins in their first full season, will bring not one, but two impressive Continentals GT3 to Sepang. Their driver line-up consists of their regular Blancpain Endurance Series drivers Maxime Soulet, Maxi Buhk and Andy Soucek on the #8 car, while on the #9 Brits Steven Kane and Guy Smith get the company of their 2016 team-mate Vincent Abril for the first time.

GT3 – FFF Racing Team by ACM #55 McLaren 650S GT3

The FFF Racing Team by ACM project was created when two high-calibre companies, FFF Automobile and ACM, decided to join forces. FFF Automobile is a global leader in the Chinese Automotive market, managed by Fu Songyang, while ACM is owned by renowned racer Andrea Caldarelli. The Italian will take on some driving duties during the upcoming Sepang 12 Hours, in the company of Hiroshi Hamaguchi, Andrew Watson and a fourth, yet to be determined, driver. Hamaguchi has a season of experience with the 650S GT3, finishing on the podium of the 2015 GT Asia Series on a couple of occasion. 20-year-old Andrew Watson is one of the BRDC Rising Stars and completed the 2015 British GT season with the Von Ryan Racing McLaren, finishing runner-up in the Silver Cup.

GT3 – Sport Garage Ferrari 458 GT3

One of the regulars on the European endurance scene, French squad Sport Garage, will bring a Ferrari 458 GT3 to Sepang. At the wheel will be Blancpain Endurance Series regulars Georges Cabannes and Jean-Paul Buffin, together with yet to be named drivers. Both Cabannes and Buffin conquered renowned GT titles in the recent past, so they should take a spot on the list of drivers to watch out for.

Television and livestream coverage secured

No self-respecting endurance race can take place without live coverage, which is why the Sepang 12 Hours will be covered from start to finish with livestreaming on the official website, and through the appropriate YouTube and DailyMotion-channels. A multitude of television channels across the motorsports planet will show the race live as well or broadcast extended highlights shortly afterwards. The detailed broadcast schedule will be released soon.

About 2015 Sepang 12 Hours

Date : December 11 – 13, 2015

The SRO Motorsport Group in partnership with the Sepang International Circuit are co-organizing and co-promoting the Sepang 12 Hours.

The following classes are eligible to race:
• GT3
• GT4 & Sports Production
• Touring Production
• Invitation class

SRO is bringing its wealth of race organisation experience to the Sepang 12 hours, especially its know-how in GT endurance. The race includes the established Touring Production class which is an integral part of the Sepang 12 Hours.

Photo FFF Racing Team

More information on :