Jerez, starting point for another exhilarating Euroformula Open season

The Andalusian track hosts the series season starter in 2015, with a 21-car entry list confirmed. Besides, this rounds counts towards the Spanish F.3 championship as well
The Euroformula Open will officially kick off the 2015 season in a few hours at Circuito de Jerez, next weekend. After three Winter Series rounds, teams and drivers face moment of truth with eight events taking place at the best racing tracks across Europe. 21 drivers from twelve countries will enter the season opener, with interesting novelties on the entry list including two young Spaniards, Javier Cobián and Otto Sánchez, who will give the best of themselves on their debut in Formula 3.

RP Motorsport, which took two wins in dominating fashion with Sandy Stuvik in Andalusia last year, comes with a very strong driver line-up on track: Andrés Saravia from Guatemala, Russia´s John Simonyan – who claimed his maiden podium in 2014-, Damiano Fioravanti and rookie drivers Vítor Rodrigues Baptista, Antoni Ptak and Igor Walilko. They all are a top driver line-up for the Italian squad.
But if RP Motorsport is a major force in the series, Campos Racing and Emilio de Villota Motorsport should be considered equals as they will enter four cars each. Russia´s Konstantin Tereschenko will team up with Henrique Baptista and Diego Menchaca and a last minute addition from Kuwait, Ahmad Al Ghanem. At Emilio de Villota Motorsport Yu Kanamaru will drive for the team led by Emilio de Villota alongside three drivers from Spanish-speaking countries: two Mexicans, Luis Michael Dörrbecker and José Manuel Vilalta and one Spaniard, Otto Sánchez, who has raced in go-karts so far.

A classic outfit in the Euroformula Open is Team West-Tec, and the British squad will have two cars for established drivers such as Israel´s Yarin Stern and Thailand´s Tanart Sathienthirakul. A third Dallara F312 appears on the entry list with its driver to be announced.

BVM Racing enters two singleseaters for William Barbosa and Javier Cobián, the latter who was the “Beca Santander” winner. DAV Racing has signed Italian pair Leonardo Pulcini and Alessio Rovera, two rising stars to attract attention in the near future.

Two other series will be at Circuito de Jerez, the Radical European Masters, the international series for prototypes, and the Historic Endurance and its classic cars.