Yu Kanamaru grabs pole position for Race one

Japan´s racer has beaten Baptista (RP Motorsport) by a margin of less than one-tenth with his Emilio de Villota Motorsport´s car. Simonyan (MKTG), Menchaca (Campos Racing) and Rovera (BVM Racing) rounded off the top-5
Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) has clinched the pole-position for Race one, which is due to start at 15.05. Kanamaru´s last attempt, a lap of 1:59.428, was good enough to improve Vítor Baptista´s time, who has shone with his RP Motorsport-entered car. Baptista was only eighty-nine thousandths slower than the Japanese pole-sitter. John Simonyan has taken third spot on the grid and Mexico´s Diego Menchaca (Campos Racing) has finished 4th. On row three, Alessio Rovera (BVM Racing) was fifth alongside Konstantin Tereschenko (Campos Racing). Team West-Tec duo, Yarin Stern and Tanart Sathienthirakul, were 7th and 8th fastest. Damiano Fioravanti and Andrés Saravia with two Dallaras fielded by RP Motorsport rounded off the top-ten.

11 cars qualified within one second of the pole position time.