Alfa Romeo, BMW, Ford and Porsche – classic race cars from the 1970s debuting in the new DTM Classic DRM Cup at Imola

Renaissance of the Deutschen Rennsport-Meisterschaft: the touring cars and GT sports cars from the 1970s are making their comeback at the race track in the newly created DTM Classic DRM Cup. During this weekend’s premiere (17 till 19 June) at the Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari, 24 classic race cars from six brands with 14 different models ensure a considerable bandwidth and an impressive presentation of motorsport history on the DTM platform.

The legendary Ford Zakspeed Capri Turbo and the massive Sauber BMW M1 Group 5 rank among the most impressive representatives of the DRM era that ranged from 1972 until 1981. The brand from Munich, the strongest in the field with eleven cars, is represented with five different vehicle types, next to the unique M1 also the beautiful 3.0 CSL, the classic 2002, the 635 CSi and the earliest 3-series models. Next to the Capri, an Escort RS 1600 complements the early DRM spell of the Cologne-based manufacturer. Porsche, from Zuffenhausen, made a decisive mark on the DTM’s predecessor series DRM and is present with the classic Carrera RSR 3.0 but also with one of the rare 914/6s. Especially for the five participants with cars of the Italian Alfa Romeo brand, the event at the Grand Prix track in the Emilia-Romagna region is likely to be an unforgettable experience. Next to three 1750 GT-Ams and a Giulia Sprint GTA, a rare Montreal in Group 4 version is present as well. Other rare cars are a De Tomaso Pantera, also prepared to the liberal Group 4 regulations, and an Opel Monza 3.0 in the characteristic Gilden Kölsch livery.

All the drivers, male and female, have a heart for their automotive gems, lovingly taking care of them with considerable effort, but at race tracks like the 4.909 kilometres long Imola circuit, they push them to remarkable lap times. Two former DTM drivers are in the field as well: Otto Rensing, a BMW Junior since 1986 who raced a BMW M3 in the 1991 DTM, is alternating with Michael Hess to drive a Porsche Carrera RSR 3.0 while Stefan Mücke, who raced in DTM with Mercedes-Benz from 2002 till 2008, and popular team principal Peter Mücke are a father-and-son team racing the Zakspeed Capri. Two brother pairings with Peter and Jürgen Schumann with the BMW 635 CSi and Stephan and Matthias Jocher with the Opel Monza plus Ute and Stefan Schreiber with the Alfa Romeo 1750 GT-Am as the only couple are also part of the illustrious field, just like Adrian van Hooydonk, who, as the head of BMW Group design, is obviously bringing a nice BMW 3.0 CSL Coupé to the track.

The DTM Classic DRM Cup is the first-ever thoroughbred championship for DRM race cars and, after Imola, will be in action at two further long-standing race tracks: Nürburgring from 26 till 28 August and the Red Bull Ring in Styria from 23 till 25 September. Two qualifying sessions of 20 minutes each (at 9.35am on both days) and two races of 25 minutes plus one lap (at 5.05pm respectively 4.15pm) are held on Saturday and Sunday. Moreover, there are 30 minutes of free practice on Friday already. All practice sessions and races of the DTM Classic DRM Cup will be aired live at Servus TV On (, Servus TV’s video and streaming platform, and DTM Grid (

DTM Classic DRM Cup 2022: entry list Imola (as of: 15 June 2022)

1 Stefan Mücke GER Peter Mücke GER Ford Zakspeed Capri Turbo
2 Philipp Kennewell GER BMW 3.0 CSL
4 Hans-Ulrich Kainzinger GER Porsche Carrera RSR 3.0
6 Ronny Scheer GER BMW M1 Procar
8 Ulrich Klösser GER Ford Escort RS 1600
9 Stephan Jocher GER Matthias Jocher GER Opel Monza 3.0
11 Malte Müller-Wrede GER Porsche Carrera RSR 3.0
12 Michael Vos GER Alfa Romeo 1750 GT-Am
13 Alois Landler GER BMW M1 Procar
20 Adrian van Hooydonk NLD BMW 3.0 CSL
22 Matthäus Rass AUT BMW 2002
24 Dirk Schumann GER Donald Molenaar NLD Alfa Romeo Montreal Gr. 4
28 Michael Meyer GER BMW 323i E21 Gr. 2
35 Franz Straub GER De Tomaso Pantera Gr. 4
39 Paul Koppenwallner AUT Sebastian Koppenwallner AUT BMW 2002
40 Michael Kammermann SUI BMW M1 Procar
42 Max Kainzinger GER Porsche 914/6
50 Marco Wagner GER BMW M1 Gruppe 5
57 Otto Rensing GER Michael Hess GER Porsche 911 RSR
61 Jürgen Ludwig GER Alfa Romeo 1750 GT-Am
63 Peter Schumann GER Jürgen Schumann GER BMW 635 CSi
66 Lukasz Rawecki POL BMW 320i E21 Gruppe 2
71 Ute Schreiber GER Stefan Schreiber GER Alfa Romeo 1750 GT-Am
84 Kurt Leimer GER Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA